27 Hours

A dynamic cast of teens drives this exciting and topical story of ecology, colonialism, and resistance.
— Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives and Cold Magic
Tristina Wright presents a world that will at once thrill and horrify readers and make the most vulnerable of us feel unambiguously welcome and valid.
— Meredith Russo, author of critically acclaimed If I Was Your Girl
A big, badass space epic with a truly inclusive cast of teens who have strong friendships, high-stakes love lives, and a central place in the adventures of the cosmos. Wright carves out a gorgeous, complex future world and brings it to life, hour by action-packed hour.
— Amy Rose Capetta, author of Entangled, Unmade, Echo After Echo, and The Brilliant Death

Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret.

They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left. 

Vibrant world building, heart-pounding action, and a cast of characters so real and vulnerable they’ll steal your heart make 27 HOURS an unforgettable read. This is the queer science-fantasy epic you’ve been waiting for.
— Claire Legrand, acclaimed author of Some Kind of Happiness and Winterspell
An exhilarating ride from the very first page, filled with fiercely original monsters and a cast as enthralling as they diverse—27 HOURS is everything readers could want from a space epic. And more.
— A.R. Kahler, author of The Immortal Circus series
Tristina Wright has masterfully crafted a world that’s as fascinating as it is dangerous. From the terrifying monsters to a refreshingly inclusive cast of characters to the bonds of friendship at the heart of this story, it has everything you could possibly want. If you’re looking for your next favorite space saga, look no further.
— Tara Sim, author of Timekeeper
Tristina Wright’s 27 HOURS combines science fiction and fantasy against the backdrop of a world so vivid you can smell it. A whirlwind of action and romance surround its diverse cast as they fight against a ticking clock to survive and save their home from destruction. Readers who loved Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Brian K. Vaughn’s Saga will be on the edge of their seats at the end of Wright’s first entry in The Nightside Saga.
— Alexandra Duncan, award-winning author of Salvage, Sound, and Blight
27 Hours is an amazing new addition to YA sci fi, featuring a cast of characters you’ll love. A tale of monsters, the moon, and fighting for what’s right.
— Laura Lam, author of Pantomime & False Hearts